About the Earth Observatory


The Earth Observatory’s mission is to share with the public the images, stories, and discoveries about the environment, Earth systems, and climate that emerge from NASA research, including its satellite missions, in-the-field research, and models.


Kevin Ward (Science Systems and Applications, Inc.): team leader
Kathryn Hansen (Science Systems and Applications, Inc.): managing editor
Adam Voiland (Science Systems and Applications, Inc.): senior science writer
Emily Cassidy (Science Systems and Applications, Inc.): senior science writer
Paul Przyborski (Science Systems and Applications, Inc.): programmer/dba/designer
Joshua Stevens (Science Systems and Applications, Inc.): data visualizer
Lauren Dauphin (Science Systems and Applications, Inc.): data visualizer
Andi Brinn Thomas (Science Systems and Applications, Inc.): earth science outreach specialist
Vipool Rathod (ADNET): system administration
Robert Levy (NASA): program manager

The Earth Observatory staff is supported by the Climate and Radiation Laboratory located at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center.


Laura Rocchio, Ginger Butcher, Michael Taylor, Kate Ramsayer, and the Landsat Science Outreach Team; Diane Davies, Minnie Wong, and the Land, Atmosphere Near real-time Capability for EOS (LANCE) team; Andrea Meado, Sara Schmidt, Justin Wilkinson, and the Earth Science and Remote Sensing Unit at NASA’s Johnson Space Center; Ellen Gray, Maria-Jose Vinas Garcia, and the NASA Earth Science News Team; Anita Davis and the Earth to Sky team; and Tassia Owen and Autumn Burdick, NASA GLOBE.

Science Advisory Board

Jim Acker (GSFC), Lin Chambers (LaRC), Santiago Gasso (GSFC), Dorothy Hall (GSFC), Ben Hamlington (JPL), George Huffman (GSFC), Jim Irons (GSFC), Ralph Kahn (GSFC), Jack Kaye (HQ), Dalia Kirschbaum (GSFC), Ron Kwok (JPL), Norman Kuring (GSFC), Robert Levy (GSFC), Norman Loeb (LaRC), Walt Meier (NSIDC), Paul Newman (GSFC), Claire Parkinson (GSFC), Mauri Pelto (Nichols College), Steve Platnick (GSFC), Lorraine Remer (UMBC-JCET), Ted Scambos (NSIDC), Colin Seftor (GSFC), Christopher Shuman (GSFC), Josh Willis (JPL).

Affiliations: Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC), Ames Research Center (ARC), Langley Research Center (LaRC), Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), Goddard Institute for Space Studies (GISS), NASA Headquarters (HQ), National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC).


Michael Carlowicz, David Herring, Robert Simmon, Jesse Allen, Rebecca Lindsey, Holli Riebeek, Jeff Schmaltz, Michon Scott, Reto Stöckli, Kasha Patel, Goran Halusa, John Weier, Dan Singhal, Pola Lem, Tara Hess, Will Stefanov, Steve Graham, Vanessa Thomas, Dave Olsen, Krishna Ramanujan, Alex McClung, Stephen Cole, Mike Heney, Craig Mayhew, Greg Shirah, Ereni Gleason, Kelly An, Barbara Schoeberl, Marit Jentoft-Nilsen, Lori Perkins, Tom Bridgman, Stuart Snodgrass, Alex Kekesi, Jacqueline Anderson, Teresita Metzbower, Diane Musick, Hailey King, Melanie Flanagan, Nina Hoffman, Jessica Phelan, Donald Walker, William Bandeen, Annette Langley, Laurie Schmidt, Jennifer Bohlander, Laura Naranjo, Rachel Hauser, Robin Williams, Clare Averil, Mike Bettwy, Alan Ward, Jeannie Allen, Charlotte Griner


2014 NASA Group Achievement Award
Webby Awards People's Voice Winner (2008)
Webby Awards People's Voice Winner (2007)
Webby Awards Winner (2003)
Webby Awards People's Voice Winner (2003)
Webby Awards People's Voice Winner (2002)
Scientific American Sci-Tech Web Award (2002)
2001 NASA Group Achievement Award
Goddard Space Flight Center Logo
2001 Goddard Public Service Group Achievement Award
STC Best of Show 1999
Educating.Net Featured Site
Popular Science 50 Best of the Web
Study Web Academic Excellence Award
Internet Scout Project Science and Engineering Selection
GovSpot Site of the Week
N.A.A. Astronomy Site of the Week